Going Primal

Sometimes one needs to make a change in life. Recently, I’ve found myself at the kind of crossroads where I need to reexamine some of my priorities. Many of my day to day beliefs fall outside what is considered the “mainstream” but too many other areas are decidedly tame and very much in line with the conventional thinking. So long story short, I bought a copy of “The Primal Blueprint” and began to read. For the past few days, I’ve been easing in to the primal lifestyle. It isn’t easy for someone on a budget to just jump right in. Amazingly, almost none of the food I had in the house fit the primal blueprint. I didn’t throw out my chips and Easter candy but instead ate them in moderation. Now they are all gone and I’ve been to the grocery store to get more primal friendly foods. It will be sometime before I can fully immerse in the dietary part of the blueprint. I’m all for locally sourced foods and farmers markets, but I can’t afford them. For now, I’m buying my produce from Wal-Mart and washing it off. I plan on going to Whole Foods soon and picking up a few items there like almond or coconut flour. The blueprint has provided some interesting culinary opportunities and I can’t wait to get a recipe book and really try my hand at some new dishes. 

However, cooking meat and sautéing some onions and mushrooms is right up my culinary alley, so cooking hasn’t been an issue. I did, however, hit my first snag tonight. I decided to make paleo-burgers using lettuce in place of the bread. Lettuce is a poor substitute for bread. I don’t mean that in a nutritional sense, but that lettuce doesn’t hold everything together very well and thus the eating gets pretty messy. Still, its nice to know that I avoid bread and that I haven’t had any bread in about 5 days. 

This is the beginning of a journey, and I’m very excited about the possibilities. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

